Reiki Learning Lounge

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Just for today..... Don't get angry.....Don't worry.....Be grateful.....Work hard.....Be kind to others

4 posters

Where to begin.

Samaphira
    Samaphira

Where to begin. Empty Where to begin.

Post by Samaphira Thu May 10, 2012 4:51 am

I am new to reiki and wondered if anybody had any pointers on getting started? Thank you.
    Colin
    Colin
    Admin/Forum Promoter
    Admin/Forum Promoter

Where to begin. Empty Re: Where to begin.

Post by Colin Thu May 10, 2012 9:18 am

Hi Samaphira

From your introduction it seems you may not yet have attended a Reiki course or had an attunement/initiation/Reiju?

That is really the first step to becoming a Reiki practitioner - receiving Reiki initiations which enhance the awareness of the Reiki we all have within us and around us.

Although it is possible to get attunements remotely or on-line, it is far better to receive them in person (indeed if you want to become a Reiki practitioner and offer sessions to others and want insurance then you will have to have received attunements in-person). The other advantage of being face-to-face with your teacher is the immediacy of the support and being able be guided and ask questions.

Choosing a Reiki teacher can be confusing because there are literally 100s of styles of Reiki practice out there nowadays - many of which do not bear much resemblance to traditional Japanese Usui Reiki Ryoho.

Your intuition can be a good guide to find an appropriate Reiki teacher for you but also ask yourself a couple of questions such as:
    What do I want to do once I have been attuned? (i.e. self-practice, professional practice, teach? etc.) - you will then be best with a reputable well-known Reiki style taught by a credible, experienced teacher.